Dept. of Agriculture's logo
of Agriculture

State of Hawaii

Financial Assistance
Agriculture Development
Quality Assurance
Pest Control
Land and Water
Admin Rules
Who We Are
Job Opportunities
What's New

E-Mail to HDOA

E-Mail to
Animal Quarantine


Return to HDOA's
Main Page

Return to Hawaii's
Agricultural Gateway



The Chairperson of the Board of Agriculture is appointed by the Governor and concurrently serves as the director of the Department of Agriculture. The Office of the Chairperson coordinates and provides administrative support to the Board of Agriculture, which meets monthly.

The Chairperson leads six divisions, one staff office, and an attached program in its mission to stimulate growth in agriculture in Hawaii. The department's main objectives are to preserve, promote and develop essential agricultural resources and infrastructure; to create and maximize opportunities for exporting; and facilitate growth of existing and new agricultural commodities and by-products. In addition, the department works to prevent the introduction and establishment of plants, animals and diseases that are detrimental to the state's agriculture industry and the environment.

The office also includes a deputy director, a public information officer and a planner. The Agribusiness Development Corporation (ADC) also falls administratively under the Chairperson's Office.

Sandra Lee Kunimoto





Duane K. Okamoto
Deputy to the Chairperson